Upcoming events

Follow Us

Log in

Fostering and promoting the Visual Arts

throughout Ontario since 1872.

Subscribe         Follow Us   

Member Solo and Small Group Exhibitions


May 31 - June 18, 2023

Opening Reception: Saturday June 3, 2-5pm

Artists Talk: Sunday, June 18, 3-4pm

Artist will be in attendance on Saturdays and Sundays during the exhibition or by appointment.

In her new series, Hot Properties: We've been here before, Propeller Art Gallery members Frances Patella is revisiting a title she used in a solo exhibition in 2014. Russia had just invaded Crimea.  The Toronto real estate market was "hot".

Inspired by an OSA trip to Temagami and Kirkland Lake in Northern Ontario, Frances began to add elements of the ecosystem in her paintings and photographs. These new works include sculptural elements, like burnt wood from the High Park controlled burns.  Patella uses photographs to represent an ecosystem over time, incorporating acrylic paint and analog photography, including double exposures.

Frances Patella was born in Italy and resides in Toronto.  She is a photo-based artist who work explores transformation in the landscapes of controlled burns.


A group exhibition curated by Carmel Brennan,OSA

June 3 (Opening Reception) – August 23, 2023

Temporary Gallery Location: Aurora Town Hall, Second Floor

Aurora Town Hall

100 John West Way 
Aurora, Ontario L4G 6J1 Canada  


Dara AramValerie Ashton, Ron Baird, Diana Bennett, Carmel Brennan, Nancy R. Chalut, Sarah Cowley, Jaya Datta, Sheila Davis, Gordana Olujic Dosic, D. Ahsén-nase Douglas, Jean Eng, Cesar Forero, Sharron Corrigan Forrest, Phil Fung, Nevaeh Michiko Hanna,(USA) Janet Hendershot, Robin Kingsburgh, Melissa Kraft,(USA) Ian Mackenzie, Mary Akemi Morris, Mary Ng, Christl Niemuller,  Katharine J. Palmer, Francis Patella, Dominique Prevost, Mark PuigmartiDoris Purchase, Janet Read, Susan Ruptash, Quan Steele, Janice Mason SteevesCarol Grant Stevens,(USA) Charles Stevens,(USA) Joanna Swann,(UK) Ernestine Tahedl, Judith Tinkl, Grazyna Tonkiel, Norma Vieira,(Brasil), Lillian Michiko Yano (Blakey), and Akira Yoshikawa. 

Featured Members

Copyright © 2022  Ontario Society of Artists  All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software